

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376

## News Release

## 2016 IOWA FFA CONDUCT OF MEETINGS CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Conduct of Meetings Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Twelve Chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the Montezuma FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. The second place chapter for the event was the Brokaw FFA Chapter at Clarinda. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Andrew Johnson.

Teams participating in this event were composed of seven members organized to act out the duties of an officer team. Teams were required to perform opening ceremonies, demonstrate two parliamentary procedure abilities, and successfully close a meeting. This event aids in the development of leadership abilities of young members for present and future chapter activities. The Iowa FFA Conduct of Meetings CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Conduct of Meetings CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agricultural The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Mya Pargeon, Harry Hamilton, Tessa Geiger, Jesse Moyer, Paige Robison, Olivia Moretz, and Daniel Bryan	Montezuma	Gold
2	Taylor Wedemeyer, Darah Gray, Lexie Haer, Ciera Carlson, Tattum Hughes, Brett Robberts, and Brady Williams	Clarinda	Gold
3	Brittany Linke, Melanie Morenz, Carlyee Clark, Sydney Tauber, Megan Carlson, Dakota Richter, and Madison Belcher	Newell	Gold
4	Kaylee Klaes, Sydney Midlang, Shelby Blake, Kourtney	Osage	Gold

## Iowa FFA Association -- 2

	Chambers, Kaitlyn Baer, Gracie Halbach, and Garrett Meitner		
5	Megan Niewoehner, Max Gibson, Hailey McElree, Taylor Nydegger, Rachel Reicks, Easton Halverson, and Tanner Menne	West Union	Gold
	Jack Buman, McKenna Boardman, Allyssa Obrecht, Mason Peters, Andrew Schechinger, Andrea Ferry, and Ronan Noeth	Harlan	Silver
	Taylor Guy, Danielle Ambers, Allison Bollhoefer, Isaac Bebout, Abbie Barr, Zoya Urbanowicz, and Carolyn-Kaye Kimmel	Newton	Silver
	Emma Padellford, Jack Lauer, Paige Busick, Max Hinners, Avery Lauer, Grace Stephens, and Taylor Clark	Pleasantville	Silver
	Tatum Dickey, Jack Baker, Gabi Evans, Jacob Nichols, Aly Jones, Parker Werling, and Brent Meyers	West Liberty	Silver
	Shayne Hoeft, Hannah Buffington, Sydney Pederson, Nicholas Engebretson, Morgan Hobbs, Tanya Olsen, and Hannah Bruns	Forest City	Bronze
	Makayla Nims, Makayla Bjork, Levi Marcoux, Trey Herrig, Emily West, Cole Siebrecht, and Maclain Todd	Sioux Rapids	Bronze
	Ally Bierschenk, Shelby Karr, Machaela Ingalls, Nathan Simpson, Alexis Miller, Jacob Thompson, and Tate Kettler	Van Horne	Bronze